2010 Buffalo Bills: Different Coach and GM, Same Old Story

Hope You're Ready For Some Football

Well hey there everyone. It’s been quite a long time since I last posted and now that the NFL season has kicked off and baseball is in the home stretch, it’s time to get back to it.

Being that I’m a Bills fan, I do feel obligated to have my first post in nearly 3 months be about a team that I actually root for. However, you can be sure that I have something cooking for the divisional opponent who did more smack talking than any team in the NFL this off-season and responded by putting 9 points on the board in front of a national audience in the opening of “their” new stadium.

Anyways, I wasn’t able to watch much of the game as I was making a journey from NYC up to Syracuse, but I did get it on the radio for most of the 2nd quarter and on. Frankly, I’m glad I didn’t have to sit through it.

At Least He's Not Our Problem Anymore

The offense continues to look lackluster no matter who the head coach is. Ever since the Jauron era began in 2006, the only part of the offense that has, at times, looked better than mediocre was the running game thanks to a couple of good seasons from Marshawn Lynch and Fred Jackson. The fact that C. J. Spiller is thrown into the mix this year and the head coach’s name is Chan Gailey instead of Dick Jauron would lead to you to believe that trend will continue or, hopefully, improve. That was the complete opposite as of what happened as the Bills rushed 17 times for a putrid 50 yards and an even worse 2.9 yards a carry. Shockingly enough (sarcasm), this is the second time in the Bills’ past three games that the have failed to rush for more than 50 yards – they rushed for only 40 yards, managing an atrocious 2.2 yards a carry, in the second to last game of the 2009 season while getting pummeled 31-3 by the Falcons. I’m willing to give the coaching staff a pass on this; however this is as clear an indictment there can be of how terrible the Bills offensive line has been lately.

Trent Edwards Continues To Disappoint The Bills Faithful

Before the 2009 season began, I debated two of my best friends, who also happen to have very good sports minds, that Trent Edwards was not a top 25 NFL quarterback. Long story short, they saw it my way after the way things went last year. Well, it’s time to up the stakes. I no longer feel that he is one of the 7 worst starting quarterbacks in the league. No, at this point it is clear to me that he is, undeniably, the worst of them all. I don’t even think he’s good enough to be a number two quarterback on many NFL teams, let alone be under center on Sundays. I made it to Syracuse just in time to see the Bills pinned down at their own 1 yard line with less than 2 minutes to go in the game. I remember thinking to myself, “Well, if Trent can pull this off maybe he can actually be a decent NFL quarterback”. Not that I expected an epic drive, but I certainly expected something better than what actually occurred. Edwards looked as bad as he sounded on the airwaves, barely coming close to his receivers on the three pass attempts he made before the Bills took a safety to try and prolong the game. I’ve been saying it for two years: Get me a new Quarterback! He can’t complete passes when it counts to sustain drives and put up touchdowns instead of field goals. It’s actually pretty impressive the defense was able to hold the Dolphins to 13 points (the safety clearly wasn’t their fault) and keep the Bills within a TD when you consider they were out on the field for almost 14 more minutes than the offense was. The Bills managed only 9 first downs and went three and out 6 of the 12 times the offense was on the field. That’s one out of every two times they had the ball. Simply horrendous. Those stats have as much to do with who the QB is, if not more, than everything else that’s wrong with this team.

Bills GM Buddy Nix has a lot of work to do before he convinces people things are changing for the better in Buffalo. It is absolutely mind boggling to me that he took the reigns of this team knowing how bad the offensive tackle spot was last season and responded with a garbage 5th round pick and nothing else to help what has been the second worst unit on this team, after QB, for the last 7 or so years. The defense continues to play “bend, but don’t break”, which drives me mad, but the fact is it kept them in the game. And with a better quarterback, they probably would have Squished the Fish for one of what is sure to be only a handful (if that) of wins this season. Oh well, one step closer to Jake Locker.

The Light At The End Of The Tunnel: Jake Locker

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

